Sean Lau and Gwei Lun-Mei win Best Leading Actor and Best Leading Actress

167 0
167 0

Hong Kong veteran actor, Sean Lau (劉青雲) and Taiwanese actress Gwei Lun-Mei (桂綸鎂) won the Best Leading Actor and Best Leading Actress at the 49th Golden Horse Awards yesterday at Yilan, Taiwan.

Sean displayed his brilliant performance in Life without Principles , playing a gangster who tried to recover money lost in a loan shark scheme. Despite receiving his first Golden Horse Award the first time, the 48-year-old was cool on stage when collecting his trophy.

Sean did not forget to add in a touch of humour in his thank you speech, “The purpose of filming a movie is not to receive any award. I am only joking! Of course, it is for receiving award.”

Sean also dedicated the award specially for his mother and father-in-law. He thanked his father-in-law, living in Taipei who had always encouraged him and feedback the press reviews of his movies in Taiwan.

After seven years, Gwei Lun-Mei (桂綸鎂) is the local actress to bag the Best Leading Actress after Shu Qi (舒淇). Receiving the award on stage, a very emotional Lun-Mei said, “I would like to thank my parents. You have put up with the loneliness and my bad temper, just so that you can let me do the things that I love. Thank you!”

Dubbed as the most handsome Judging Committee Chairman, Andy Lau (劉德華) was the focus of the evening. Giving out the Best Featured Film on stage, Andy was asked to use his expressions to disclose the winners.

The superstar also said jokingly, “As only one person will win the award, the other four will hate me! Those that win the awards, thank Golden Horse Awards. For those who do not win anything, come and look for me!”

Eventually, he announced Beijing Blues  as the Best Featured Film.

The winners of the 49th Golden Horse Awards are as follows:

Best Featured Film: Beijing Blues

Best Short Film: The Home Cleaners

Best Documentary: China HeavyWeight

Best Director: Johnnie To, Life without Principles 

Best New Director: Chang Jung-Chi, Touch of the Light

Best Leading Actor: Sean Lau, Life without Principles

Best Leading Actress: Gwei Lun-Mei,  Gf*Bf

Best Supporting Actor: Ronald Cheng, Vulgaria

Best Supporting Actress: Liang Jing, Design of Death

Best New Performer: Qi Xi, Mystery

Best Original Screenplay: Milkyway Creative Team, Au Kin Yee, Wong King Fai, Life without Principles 

Best Adapted Screenplay: Bao Jingjing, Love is not blind

Best Cinematography: Wu Di, Beijing Blues

Best Visual Effects: Wook Kim, Frankie Chung, Josh Cole, Flying Swords of Dragon Gate

Best Art Direction: Lin Mu, Design of Death

Best Makeup & Costume Design: Stanley Cheung, The Bullet Vanishes

Best Action Choreography: Chin Ka Lok, Wong Wai Fai, Ng Hoi Tong, Motorway

Best Original Film Score: Peyman Yazdanian, Johann Johannsson, Mystery

Best Original Film Song: DoReMi
Lyric: Lin Xi
Composer: Lo Tayu
Performer : Sammi Cheng (Romancing in Thin Air )

Best Film Editing: Yang Hongyu, Beijing Blues

Best Sound Effects: Kinson TSANG, Lai Chi Hung, Nightfall

Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year: Huang Yu-Siang

Audience Choice Award:  Gf*Bf

FIPRESCI Prize: Touch of the Light

Lifetime Achievement Award: Shih Chun


This article is written for Asian Pop News. Please do not repost this article on other websites. Please credit if any contents are taken from Asian Pop News.

In this article

Join the Conversation