Tony Leung Kar-Fai and Miriam Yeung win Best Actor and Actress awards

195 0
195 0


Police thriller movie, Cold War <寒戰 swept nine awards including Best Director and Best Film at the 32nd Hong Kong Film Awards. Its leading actor, Tony Leung Kar-Fai also clinched the Best Actor award for his portrayal of a deputy police commissioner vying for power with another senior police officer, played by Aaron Kwok over a hostage rescue mission.

This is the fourth time which Tony has won the Best Actor Award in the Hong Kong Film Awards. The 55-year-old veteran actor said, “Cold War is the result of the efforts by these outstanding actors.”

An emotional Tony said, “Thank you my family, parents, sister and my two daughters who said that I should thank them when I receive the award. This is because they have watched Cold War four times, and each time they took 20 classmates along.”

First time winner, Miriam Yeung hugged her husband, Real Ting upon hearing her name declared as the Best Actress award for the movie, Love In The Buff <春嬌與志>. Miriam, who has just recovered from a surgery recently, said, “I am so shocked! I have to thank the judging committee. I have never thought that I would have this chance.”

She also said, “My mind suddenly went blank after going up the stage. I never expect that I would get so nervous. My husband was worried that I would be disappointed if I did not win the award, so he already ‘brain-washed’ me two weeks ago. He was so cute and attentive to my feelings. My husband was so emotional when he saw me winning the award. During our wedding proposal, he was not even that emotional!”



List of winners at the 32nd Hong Kong Film Awards:

Best Film: Cold War  

Best Director: Longman Leung, Sunny Luk Kim Ching (Cold War)

Best Screenplay: Longman Leung, Sunny Luk Kim Ching (Cold War)

Best Actor: Tony Leung Ka Fai (Cold War)

Best Actress: Miriam Yeung (Love In The Buff)

Best Supporting Actor: Ronald Cheng Chung Kei (Vulgaria)

Best Supporting Actress: Dada Chan (Vulgaria)

Best New Performer: Alex Tsui (Cold War)

Best Cinematography: Anthony Pun Yiu Ming (The Silent War)

Best Film Editing: Kong Chi Leung & Wong Hoi (Cold War)

Best Art Direction: Yee Chung Man & Eric Lam Che Kiu (The Last Tycoon)

Best Costume & Make Up Design: Yee Chung Man & Jessie Dai Mei Ling (The Great Magician)

Best Action Choreography: Jackie Chan & He Jun (CZ12)

Best Original Film Score: Peter Kam Pui Tat (Cold War)

Best Original Film Song: The Last Tycoon by Jacky Cheung

Best Sound Design: Kinson Tsang (Cold War)

Best Visual Effects: Cecil Cheng (Cold War)

Best New Director: Chow Hin Yeung (Nightfall)

Best Film From Mainland And Taiwan: Back To 1942

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ng See Yuen

Source: ihktv, Ming Pao 

This article is written for Reproduction or reposting this article on other websites is STRICTLY prohibited.  

In this article

Join the Conversation